Sunday, August 2, 2009

The Dominican Republic Flag

The flag of the Dominican Republic features a centered white cross that extends to the edges and divides the flag into four rectangles, the top ones are blue and red, and the bottom ones are red and blue.

A small coat of arms featuring a shield supported by a bay laurel branch and a palm frond is at the center of the cross; above the shield, a blue ribbon displays the national motto: Dios, Patria, Libertad (God, Fatherland, Liberty). Below the shield, the words "Rep├║blica Dominicana" appear on a red ribbon.

The Puerto Rican Flag

The Puerto Rican flag was created on December 22, 1895 by pro-Independence patriots in New York City. Although outlawed by Spanish and U.S. authorities, a Dark-Blue version was declared official in 1952 by the Commonwealth government.

Flags used by pro-Independence and patriotic groups use a Sky-Blue, while pro-Commonwealth and pro-Statehood groups use darker shades to highlight an association to the U.S. The 1952 version uses a Dark-Blue shade. A popular nickname for the Puerto Rican flag is "La monoestrellada" (The Lone Star Flag).